Concealed Pistol License (CPL)

Applying for a Concealed Pistol License in Branch County

New Effective December 1, 2015 – Elimination of local Gun Boards.

A complete copy of the firearm laws for Michigan is available on the Michigan State Police Firearms page or the Michigan Legislature’s Firearms page.

An Applicant must take a state required, in-person training class.

Obtain a CPL application at the County Clerk’s office or online by clicking  CPL Application

Applicant must file their application at the County Clerk’s office in the County where they reside and must be a resident of that county, for at least six months. Branch County residents must apply at the County Clerk’s office 31 Division St., Coldwater Michigan. Office hours are Monday-Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. Courthouse locks the doors at 4:50 pm. New Applicants, please arrive no later than 4:30 pm, to be printed same day.

At the time of the application you will need:

  • A certificate from your training class, must include the State required language and training completed within 5 years.
  • A current photo identification: a Michigan Driver’s License or State Identification which shows your local address.
  • An application fee of $100.00 plus $15.00 fingerprint fee for new applicants and $115.00 for renewals. You may pay the application fee in the form of cash, check, debit or credit card. (There is an additional fee for debit and credit payments.)

As a new applicant, you will always be required to have your prints taken. Fingerprints are done in the County Clerk’s Office at the time of filing your application.

Renewal applications can be done in-person at the County Clerk’s office, in the County of residence, online at  https://cplrenewal.msp.state.mi.us/CPLOnline/#!/ , using the pin number that was mailed to you, 90 days before expiration of your CPL or by mail to MSP CPL Unit, P.O. Box 30634, Lansing, Michigan 48909, along with the completed CPL application, a check or money order payable to Michigan State Police. Can renew up to 1 year from CPL expiration date.

**Change of address- should be updated in the County the CPL was issued, to ensure a renewal letter is mailed to the correct address. ***  

The application shall be signed under oath by the applicant. The oath shall be administered by the county clerk or his or her deputy.

After the completed application and fingerprints have been electronically transferred to the Michigan State Police, they will perform a background check and respond to the County Clerk with a Qualified or Disqualified message.

The County Clerk will send out an Approval letter with each Concealed Pistol License or a Disqualification Letter which identifies the disqualification reason, the disqualification source and the source’s contact information.

The County Clerk has 45 days from the date of fingerprints to send an Approval or Disqualification Letter for a new application and 30 days for a renewal application.

If the application fails to get fingerprinted within the 45 days, the application is automatically withdrawn.

Claim of Appeal: https://www.courts.michigan.gov/siteassets/forms/scao-approved/cc79.pdf

Contact

County Clerk

Phone
517.279.4306

Fax
517.278.5627

Email
countyclerk@countyofbranch.com

Address
Courthouse
31 Division St.
Coldwater, MI 49036
First Floor of the Courthouse

Staff

Terry A. Kubasiak
County Clerk

Christine Ransbottom
Chief Deputy Clerk

Kami Gilbert
Deputy Clerk

Amy Maystead
Deputy Clerk

Shelley Mundy
Deputy Clerk

Brittney Blouin
Deputy Clerk

Translate »