Fees

Recording Fees

Recording Fees: $30 regardless of how many pages. $4.00 of this fee is deposited to the Michigan State Survey and Remonumentation (MSSR) fund. The MSSR fee is not assessed on Fixture Filings, State Liens, Federal Liens, State Deeds, Plats or Tax Reversion Documents. MCLA 600.2567a(4)

Recording Fees for State, Federal and M.E.S.C. Liens

Federal:
$30.00 for Notice of Lien for Real Property
$30.00 for Personal Property
$30.00 for Certificate of Release for Real or Personal Property
$30.00 for Certificate of Discharge for Real Property
$30.00 for Personal Property

State:
$30.00 for Notice of Lien for Real Property
$30.00 for Personal Property
$30.00 for Certificate of Release for Real or Personal Property
$30.00 for Certificate of Discharge for Real Property
$30.00 for Personal Property.

M.E.S.C. (Michigan Employment Security Act)

$30.00 for Notice of Lien
$30.00 for Discharge of Lien.

UCC (Fixture Filing) Recording Fee

$30 for any amount of pages. This includes amendments, assignments, releases and terminations. For a Fixture Filing Original, a legal description must be attached.

Assignment and Discharge Fees

For any document which assigns or discharges more than one instrument: $3.00 shall be added to the recording fee for each additional instrument so assigned or discharged.

Warranty Deeds & Land Contracts

A tax certificate must be obtained from the County Treasurer’s Office prior to recording any of the following [MCLA 211.135]:

  • Warranty Deed
  • Any Deed which contains a covenant of warranty
  • Land Contract
  • Land Contract Memorandum with warranty clause

Tax Certifications

$5.00 per document for up to 5 descriptions
20 cents per additional description over 5
A separate check made payable to the Treasurer’s Office is required.

A stamped envelope is required for the return of all documents.

Copy, Search, Certification, Fax & Email Fees

Copy Fee

Real Estate Recorded Copy $1.00 per page

Certification Fee

$5.00 Per Document Fee for certification of any of the above copies. (To be eligible for certification, the document must be copied in its entirety.)

Search Fee

  • Searching the Real Estate Records
  • Per name $0.50 per year – $5.00 minimum fee
  • State Tax Lien $3.00 per name searched
  • Federal Tax Lien $3.00 per name searched

Fax &/or Email Fee:

$5.00 each

Contact

Register of Deeds

Hours
Monday – Friday
8:00am to 5:00pm
Including the lunch hour. Documents received 4:30 or after will be recorded the following morning.

Phone
517.279.4320

Address
23 East Pearl Street
Coldwater, MI 49036
Located in the Courthouse Annex

Staff

Nancy Hutchins
Register of Deeds

Nyci DeLoach
Chief Deputy

Kerri Morr
Deputy

Translate »